Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel or vortex, and it refers to each of the seven energy centres of which our consciousness, our energy system, is composed. These chakras, or energy centres, function as pumps or valves, regulating the flow of energy through our energy system. The functioning of the chakras reflects decisions we make concerning how we choose to respond to conditions in our life. We open and close these valves when we decide what to think, and what to feel, and through which perceptual filter we choose to experience the world around us.

The chakras are not physical. They are aspects of consciousness in the same way that the auras are aspects of consciousness. The chakras are denser than the auras, but not as dense as the physical body. They interact with the physical body through two major vehicles, the endocrine system and the nervous system. Each of the seven chakras is associated with one of the seven endocrine glands, and also with a group of nerves called a plexus. Thus, each chakra can be associated with particular parts of the body and particular functions within the body controlled by that plexus or that endocrine gland associated with that chakra.

All of your senses, all of your perceptions, all of your possible states of awareness, everything it is possible for you to experience, can be divided into seven categories. Each category can be associated with a particular chakra. Thus, the chakras represent not only particular parts of your physical body, but also particular parts of your consciousness.

When you feel a tension in your consciousness, you feel it in the chakra associated with that part of your consciousness experiencing the stress, and in the parts of the physical body associated with that chakra. Where you feel the stress depends upon why you feel the stress. The tension in the chakra is detected by the nerves of the plexus associated with that chakra and transmitted to the parts of the body controlled by that plexus. When the tension continues over a period of time, or to a particular level of intensity, the person creates a symptom on the physical level.

The symptom speaks a language that reflects the idea that we each create our reality, and the metaphoric significance of the symptom becomes apparent when the symptom is described from that point of view. Thus, rather than saying, “I can’t see,” the person would describe it as keeping themselves from seeing something. “I can’t walk,” means the person has been keeping himself or herself from walking away from a situation in which they are unhappy. And so on.

The symptom served to communicate to the person through their body what they had been doing to themselves in their consciousness. When the person changes something about their way of being, getting the message communicated by the symptom, the symptom has no further reason for being, and it can be released, according to whatever the person allows themselves to believe is possible.

Understanding the chakras allows you to understand the relationship between your consciousness and your body, and to thus see your body as a map of your consciousness. It gives you a better understanding of yourself and those around you.

Going into the subtle bodies, beyond the physical

The chakras act as a gateway between the different aspects of the self:

Physical self

Emotional self

Mental self

Spiritual self

They receive and interpret information that is transmitted by a higher frequency from the more subtle aspects of our being. They process this energy making it accessible to the body. So they convert it into chemical/hormonal/nervous information that the body can respond to on the physical level. So the chakras are responsible for the cellular changes within the body.

Eg: Gross = radio

Subtle = radio waves

So the whole of our physical existence, what we see, touch ect.

The material world = manifestation of more subtle energies.


Around the surrounding body, we have a psychic sphere of energy. This sphere is made up of different levels or Koshas (Sanskrit for sheath). These levels interpenetrate each other but you could say that they are divided into 5 different layers. The prana flows through these layers, manifesting slightly differently in each layer. At physical layer – provides energy to drive the body, make it work. As we go through the layers, the energy becomes for subtle and harder to perceive with the intellect.


Chakras form a ladder. When we are born we are incarnated into the root chakra. When conceived, we enter through the crown and whilst developing in the womb, steadily move downwards from the highest plane (crown) to the base at birth.

We go through life – gradually raising our awareness back up until death. In the same way that the koshas become more and more subtle as they get closer to our true self, so do the chakras.

Each of the levels of existence within the chakras is equally important. The lowest root chakra is what enables us to feel comfortable in our bodies and with ourselves. So it is the foundation for further growth. Most people do not evolve further than the first three chakras.

You can look at each of the chakras has an emotional and spiritual lesson to be learned and applied to life. A degree of success at understanding this lesson will determine the energy flow within that chakra and affect the part of the body that corresponds to it. Avoiding the lesson can block that chakra. So if the chakra is not fully open, then over time it can vibrate in a disharmony, which is the steam of all dis-ease.

 Health Of The Chakras

An easy way to determine which chakras are blocked is to pay attention to which parts of your body get tight or begin to hurt when stressed.

For example, if you have a headache, look towards your 6th chakra also known is the ajna

If there is throat problems there is usually some discord happening in the 5th chakra also known as vishudhi, if your heart is pumping too fast that would connect with the 4th chakra or the anahata chakra ect. Where ever there is a problem manifesting in your body that would be the associated chakra to look at.

Chakra Chart Reference Guide

Stay connected with our

Events & Offerings